United Arab Emirates
Czech Republic
United Kingdom
Hong Kong

Fat Face Racing Circuit Lee on Solent S.C.

  • 49 RS400s at the Irish Nationals!
  • RS400s in the sun at Lymington, 2015
  • RS400s in the sun at Lymington, 2015
  • Howard Farbrother & Dan Martin win the Gul RS400 Inlands 2015
  • JP Watersports RS400 Scottish Tour at Royal Findhorn, July 2016
  • Jon & Nicky enjoying the 2016 Inlands
  • RS400 Eurocup, YC Carnac, May 2018
  • RS400 Eurocup, YC Carnac, May 2018
  • RS400 Eurocup, YC Carnac, May 2018
  • RS400 Eurocup, YC Carnac, May 2018
Jones/Hogan win again in sparkling conditions

35 RS400s defied the windless forecast to attend the Fat Face circuit event

at Lee on Solent and were rewarded with sunshine and breeze.

Following a postponement to allow the wind to settle, the fleet got away in a
light easterly, with Paul and Mike Allen leading around the windward mark.  As
the bulk of the fleet headed inshore out of the tide, Tom Halhead/Christian
Humphrey gybed early from mid fleet.  As the wind died and turned inside-out,
Halhead/Humphrey were propelled to the front and stayed there to win from
the Allens and winners of the last circuit event at Abersoch, Dave Jones/Mark

For the second race, the sea breeze was building gradually and Chris Gowers/June
Riley showed themselves at the front but couldn’t hold off the flyweight pairing of
Nick Lowe/Elaine Marsh, who won in style.  Giles/Heather Chipperfield showed
great pace to grab third.

By the time that the third race has started, the wind had built to 14 knots and
the sea state was starting to chop up.  Jonno Shelly/Chris Blackburn absolutely
launched off the starboard end of the start line but Paul Hilliar/Stu Jagger led from
Halhead/Humphrey at the first mark.  Hilliar/Jagger continued to lead until the final
run, where Halhead/Humphrey reeled them in to win, with Jones/Hogan in third.

The annual RS association ball took place at the Submarine museum in Gosport
and I think the best thing to be said about it is that the people who missed it
really missed out on a fantastic night in a great venue.

On Sunday morning, a light but shifty wind provided a stern test for everyone. 
Bill & Linda Handley took what looked like an unassailable early lead by hugging
the shoreline but eventually they succumbed to the Welsh contingent -
Lowe/Marsh winning from Jones/Hogan.

In a continuing light breeze, Squib legend Chris Hogan led the next race until it
went very light on the run.  Jones/Hogan took the lead and held on the win
(although they later lost this in the protest room) from Gowers/Riley and

Halhead/Humphrey had a storming start to the final race, crossing the fleet
straight away.  However, they were undone by a late windshift, bringing
Gowers/Riley into the lead followed by the Allens.  Gowers/Riley eventually lost
the lead to the Allens, who went on to win.  Hilliar/Jagger snuck past on the
last downwind to grab second.

So after a weekend with 4 different race winners where everyone else struggled
with consistency, Jones/Hogan won comfortably (their second circuit event in a
row), having demonstrated speed across the varying conditions.  The RS400 Fat
Face circuit now continues with a visit to the east coast at Aldeburgh S.C. on 7/8
July before culminating in a visit to Weston, just one week before the nationals
at Parkstone.




RS FAT FACE Open 2007

Fleet 1 Fleet

Sailed:6,  Discards:1, To count:5, Entries:35, Scoring system:My scoring system
1stFleet 1RS 400962DAVE JONESMARK HOGAN3432(36.0 DSQ)45216
2ndFleet 1RS 4001121PAUL HILLIARSTUART JAGGER572-8222618
4thFleet 1RS 4001155PAUL ALLENMIKE ALLAN2949-1213725
6thFleet 1RS 4001204CHRIS GOWERSJUNE RILEY72(36.0 OCS)14136327
7thFleet 1RS 4001257NICK LOWEELAINE MARSH-13110111114734
8thFleet 1RS 4001082CHRIS HOGANSALLY KIRKPATRICK-118910354635
9thFleet 1RS 4001189NICK HOLTDEREK HILL1455-18695739
10thFleet 1RS 4001182PHIL JACKSONGERARD BARRON10-13658105239
11thFleet 1RS 4001304JOHN COOPERBECCI WIGLEY1512711-1686953
12thFleet 1RS 4001274BILL HANDLEYLYNDA HANDLEY-281517313128860
13thFleet 1RS 4001215SIMON PRITCHARD JONESGAEL PAWSON1714-20410178262
14thFleet 1RS 4001275SAM PARKERANNA LUDGATE12-1716167158366
15thFleet 1RS 4001190STEPHEN JONES?6-22112017149068
16thFleet 1RS 4001202NEIL BEVINGTONSTEVE READ-29201312141310172
17thFleet 1RS 400628ED CHILDDAN BROWN166181521-239976
18thFleet 1RS 400966DUNCAN PRYDEJUBE PRYDE-2424221331810480
19thFleet 1RS 400601PETE BENNETTALICIA BENNETT923151718(DNC)11882
20thFleet 1RS 400592ENGLISHMATT HALL81819-25201910984
21stFleet 1RS 4001167PAUL CHILDSHANNAH BURYWOOD2019(36.0 OCS)19151612589
22ndFleet 1RS 4001249JONO SHELLEYCHRIS BLACKBURN251682419(36.0 DSQ)12892
23rdFleet 1RS 4001201NEIL PEACOCKLIZ PEACOCK21-2524222320135110
24thFleet 1RS 400946DANIEL TATERYAN MAYCOCK1927232125(36.0 DSQ)151115
25thFleet 1RS 400787JAMES HEWITTJENNY BLEWETT2231212324(36.0 DSQ)157121
26thFleet 1RS 400543MARK DUCHOVEREMMA CLARKE272131(DNC)2224161125
27thFleet 1RS 4001210JAMES DOWNERJOHN PRICE331012(DNC)DNCDNC163127
28thFleet 1RS 400522NICK SIMMONSSIMON DOWNING-303026282621161131
29thFleet 1RS 400813JAMES GEORGEMATT FORBES31-3329272722169136
30thFleet 1RS 400755J HAMILTONMARK CHESTER2329(DNC)292927173137
31stFleet 1RS 400744FIONA BOLTIAIN LEWIS26-3430302826174140
32ndFleet 1RS 400606IAN BEALELEON HALIWELL(DNC)28282636.0 OCS25179143
33rdFleet 1RS 400659JAMES CUTLERMARCUS MOSSMAN1835323130(DNC)182146
34thFleet 1RS 4001163BEN BIGLINJASON BENN322625(DNC)DNCDNC191155

Website Security Test